6 Effective Ways To Conquer Writers’ Block


Writers’ Block is when your imaginary friends won’t talk to you.

Okay, so I copped a bit of flack for declaring that I don’t suffer from that pervasive performance anxiety called “the block”. Well, I don’t. Some psychologists claim that creative gridlocks are the result of stress. Trying to force out a story before it’s ready, or before you’ve had enough rest. Stress is a physical response to life’s stresses. We cannot live a life without stress, since it part of our survival mechanism. We can only manage and co-exist with it. Until we understand this vital balance, we will always suffer the dreaded “block” and shut down creatively.

When we meditate, we can connect with our core, our most powerful inner wisdom and strength and source of compassion. You are an artist, a thespian. Let your soul soar high and your creativity even higher.

Here are some meditative techniques to  soothe your soul; creative or otherwise:

CREATE A GRATITUDE LIST

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more – Melody Beattie.

Everyday, spend a few moments writing five things you are thankful for, no matter how trivial. Be thankful that you can type a script, be thankful that you have a place to write, be thankful that you have been blessed with creativity.

MUSCLE RELAXATION

Tense and release your body and breathe deeply afterwards. You can tense your entire body at once or one part at a time. Honor your body for the work it’s doing. Stretch your shoulders, arms, back and the areas that stiffen with prolonged periods at your desk.

VISUALIZATION

Close your eyes and bring awareness to your breath. Picture a radiant sun shining above you. Visualize it’s rays bathing your body. Breathe some more, directing your breath to the areas with most tension. This can be either in seated or lying position.

FOCUS WORDS

These can be secular or religious. Think of a word or phrase that brings you comfort. Focus on these words for a few minutes. The word “gentle” works for me. Other possible words include love, wonder, spirit, divine, relax, peace, amen or om. Remember, we are mercurial creatures, so a word that works one day, may not work the next.

SINGING

My neighbors won’t speak to me anymore, but singing gives your lungs a work out. Try happy, uplifting songs. A dirty ditty or a religious hymn. You chose.

SLEEPING/ DREAMING

Have a power nap and tell your subconscious to iron out a plot point, develop a character or tend to a specific point in your story giving you grief. Being in a less than fully conscious state, unleashes your creativity and can create some of your best work.

Let’s end with some quotes:

Music is what feelings sound like.

There are no failures – just experiences and your reactions to them.” Tom Krause (motivational speaker)

Anyone can give up, it’s the easiest thing in the world to do. But to hold it together when everyone else would understand if you fell apart, that’s true strength.

“Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose.

Try and fail, but don’t fail to try.

You won’t realize the distance you’ve walked until you take a look around and realize how far you’ve been.

Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go, only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be.

I shut my eyes in order to see.” Paul Gaugin (painter)

If my mind can conceive it, and my heart can believe it, I know I can achieve it.” Jesse Jackson (American Civil Rights Leader)

You are the only person on earth who can use your ability.” Zig Ziglar (motivational speaker)

Will is character in action

“When I’m hungry, I eat. When I’m thirsty, I drink. When I feel like saying something, I say it.” Madonna

scriptfirm final logo colour
For in depth Film & TV script analysis visit Script Firm.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Some good strategies here. Visualisation is a fantastic one. It really helps get you through pretty much anything.

  2. JG Sarantinos says:

    I’d do just about anything to get out of writing. But anything that unblocks our chi has to be good. The world needs more storytellers..

Leave a Reply

